“Sad? Over.” “Sure. Over.” “Hold on,”

“What about a teakettle? What if the spout opened and closed when the steam came out, so it would become a mouth, and it could whistle pretty melodies, or do Shakespeare, or just crack up with me? I could invent a teakettle that reads in Dad’s voice, so I could fall asleep, or maybe a set of kettles that sings the chorus of ‘Yellow Submarine’, which is a song by the Beatles, who I love, because entomology is one of my raisons d’être, which is a French expression that I know.”

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close – Jonathan Safran Foer


picture found @ weheartit

Leave a Reply

